An independent co-educational school serving preschool through Grade 8.

News and Announcements

The Stanley Clark School Announces the Groundbreaking of Smith Hall

On Friday, March 18, benefactors, faculty, staff, parents, and students gathered for a Celebratory Groundbreaking of the Laura and Jack Boyd Smith, Jr. Performing Arts Center. Erin Linder Hanig '94, Board of Trustees President, Ben Ottenweller, Incoming Head of School, and Deborah Chudzynski, Drama/Theatre Teacher, spoke at the event. A benefactor reception, student performances, and ceremonial groundbreaking rounded out the historic occasion. Attendees signed wooden beams that would become part of the permanent construction. WNDU News was in attendance to cover the story. 

Learn more, view photos, and stay up-to-date on the progression of the construction on the Smith Hall Construction page




Ben Ottenweller Appointed Head of School of The Stanley Clark School

Ben Ottenweller

The Board of Trustees is delighted to announce the appointment of Ben Ottenweller as the next Head of School of The Stanley Clark School, effective July 1, 2022. Ben’s appointment is the culmination of an extensive national search in which the Search Committee (with the help of consultants Carney, Sandoe & Associate) screened dozens of applications, interviewed eight semi-finalists, and brought two finalists to campus for two-day visits. Thank you to all members of the SCS community who participated in these visits.  

Following the campus visits, the Search Committee received overwhelmingly positive and enthusiastic feedback about Ben, highlighting the many ways in which his experience, talents, and authentic care for students and faculty matched those attributes that our community members clearly articulated as priorities. Ben’s experience in the classroom, as a school administrator, a coach, and lifelong learner prepare him to effectively lead The Stanley Clark School at this exciting time in the school’s history. 

For the past seventeen years, Ben has been a member of the Canterbury School community in Fort Wayne, IN, where he has served as a 4th grade teacher, middle school director, high school basketball coach, and high school director. For the past seven years, Ben has served as Canterbury’s assistant head of school. Prior to his tenure at Canterbury, Ben served as a Mild Disabilities Teacher and 3rd grade teacher at Churubusco Elementary School. 

Of Ben’s many talents, his passion for education and authentic commitment to students and faculty are evident and contagious. During his tenure at Canterbury, he developed a model for faculty support and invested in professional development. Moreover, he served as a leader on the school’s Diversity Equity & Inclusion efforts, the Affordability Working Committee, and Facilities Committee. His experience with relationship building, school finances, development of faculty, and investment in the educational journey of every student are foundational elements to Ben’s successful career. Ben is a member of the ISACS Board of Trustees, Young Scholars Academy Board of Trustees, and former Board Member of the Boys and Girls Club of Fort Wayne. 

Affectionately referred to as “Mr. O” by his students, Ben is a treasured teacher and administrator. He prioritizes students, faculty, and an inclusive community. His kindness and presence are visible to all members of the school community, whether in the classroom, performing arts, school events, athletic fields, and social engagements. We are so blessed to welcome him to Stanley Clark. 

Ben earned his BS in Elementary Education K-6 and Minor in Special Education Mild Disabilities K-12 from Indiana University - Bloomington. He earned a Master of Arts in Education from Ball State University and is currently a candidate for a Doctorate in Education from Vanderbilt University. 

We very much look forward to welcoming Ben, his wife Michelle, and their two children, Henry (grade 3) and Elliott (grade K), to the Stanley Clark School community.

Please join us in welcoming Ben Ottenweller as our next Head of School.